HELP MY UNBELIEF

Ever noticed that people who believe the impossible have the most impact?

As we approach the MLK holiday, I’m beginning to develop a renewed appreciation for Dr. King as a revolutionary.

He believed a system – a belief system could be toppled – because he knew it was wrong. And he believed it was wrong in the eyes of God.

He was stirred in his spirit to the point he could no longer ignore it.

I believe he developed a resolve to withstand beatings and abuse from all angles.

In a story in Mark 9, Jesus’ disciples were confronted with the impossible themselves.

A boy was possessed and oppressed by a spirit – much like America was possessed and oppressed by hatred.

The disciples tried to cast it out – to no avail.  But when the boy’s father came to Jesus, he said:

“I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!”

     -Mark 9:24b (NIV)

The boy’s father was acknowledging he knew what was possible, because his situation just wasn’t right.

But he also acknowledged he didn’t have the faith to do what was necessary to change it.

The good news is in Jesus’ response to this situation (as always):

“Everything is possible for one who believes.”

     -Mark 9:23b (NIV)

I’m praying that I will be able to see situations like Jesus does.

I’m expecting a revolution!

I believe the world is God’s and that He wants all to believe in Jesus Christ.

But to demonstrate my faith, I have to be willing to lose – just as Dr. King did, and Christ.

I may not have to give it all, my life. But to overcome the world, I’ve got to be willing to give up my affections for this world.

Can you believe?

Who is connected to you that needs to hear and see the goodness of Jesus?

Is it you?

I want to assure you that Jesus won’t disappoint you like everything else in this world that we trust.

Your past disappointments are not an example of how companionship with Jesus works.

Don’t let the pains of the past turn your heart cold toward His love.

Blessings to you all…

Comments, questions, prayer requests are welcome here..

