THE CHOICE IS YOURS

If you’ve ever struggled with the thought you can achieve great things in the name of Jesus, or you’ve been challenged by the mere thought of performing the same miracles Jesus did, I want to encourage you.

You have been called to do the impossible for God.

The choice is yours.

Consider what happened in the Garden of Gethsemane, where Jesus was at his limit.

Mark 14:34-36 KJV

“And saith unto them, My soul is exceeding sorrowful unto death: tarry ye here, and watch.

And he went forward a little, and fell on the ground, and prayed that, if it were possible, the hour might pass from him.

And he said, Abba, Father, all things are possible unto thee; take away this cup from me: nevertheless not what I will, but what thou wilt.”

His human nature wanted to save itself.

His God-like nature wanted to save YOU.

What if?

What if Jesus gave in to his human nature?

Thank the Lord we don’t have to ponder for long the utter devastation that would’ve resulted from a Paradise Lost moment.

But what if?

The point I’m making is this: JESUS HAD A CHOICE!

This will certainly cause some confusion because I believe we don’t give it a second thought that Jesus would give up everything to save us.

But listen to the words he spoke:

Mark 14:34-35 KJV

“And saith unto them, My soul is exceeding sorrowful unto death: tarry ye here, and watch.”

And he went forward a little, and fell on the ground, and prayed that, if it were possible, the hour might pass from him.”

It is evident in the scriptures that Jesus was certain to come and was destined to take on the sins of the world for our salvation.

It was prophesied. So it had to happen, right?

Yes.

But we cannot pass over the struggle that Jesus engaged in because it is so apparent he was being tempted beyond his human ability to withstand.

He had to confess his weakness and surrender to the loving Father who wrote out his destiny centuries prior.

Do you believe God’s prophecy about YOU?

John 14:12 KJV

“Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father.”

We are called to perform miracles – healing people, casting out demons,  speaking in unknown tongues – all for the purpose of bringing people to their Father’s house.

But we have a decision to make.

I can allow my human nature to keep me thinking about ME.

OR…

I can confess my weaknesses to the Father when I’m tempted to ignore my calling,  even for a moment.

And He will certainly provide the strength and boldness and the Holy Spirit to fulfill His purpose for my life!

It’s time we focused on getting to GREATER!

God bless you!

Comments, questions, prayer requests are welcome here..

